Mars Bar Cheesecake

So, it was late Saturday night and I was making dinner on Sunday night but quickly realised I hadn’t planned what to make for dessert. At first it seemed that cookies would be the easiest option but then a craving for cheesecake hit me. I didn’t want any fruit on it though. I ALWAYS make fruit cheesecakes. Then it hit me! Caramel. An idea came to me and the next morning this idea became a mars bar cheesecake.


I love chocolate and I love caramel so this was a great combination for me. The very first cheesecake I ever made was a New York style cheesecake and I have stuck to making cheesecakes in that style but with some modifications. I am yet to try and make a no bake cheesecake but I’m sure that with the love I have for cheesecakes; that day is not far.

This mars bar cheesecake turned out pretty good for something that popped into my mind out of nowhere (most probably out of a love for caramel). If I could improve on anything next time, it would be the crust. For me it was a bit too much. I think next time I’ll use only 1/2 the packet of digestives or 3/4. Or maybe use chocolate biscuits for the crust. There is always room for changes and improvements.  Of course it’s all about personal preference and you can modify your cheesecake to be the way you want it.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pack crushed digestive biscuits
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 cup melted butter
  • 800g soft cheese
  • Two eggs
  • Zest of one lemon
  • Juice of ½ a lemon
  • 250g caster sugar
  • ½ bar of milk chocolate grated
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 pack mars bar bites
  • 200ml double cream
  • ½ bar of milk chocolate melted
  • 150ml-250ml caramel (you decide!)

METHOD

  1. Preheat the oven to 180℃ and grease a spring form cake tin
  2. In a bowl, combine the digestive biscuits, cinnamon and melted butter. Press into baking tin and bake in the oven for 5 minutes at 180℃.
  3. Take the tin out of the oven and let the crust cool for 15 minutes.
  4. While the crust is cooling down; use a whisk (electric or hand held) to whisk the soft cheese until even softer.
  5. Add the eggs one at a time and continue whisking. Add the lemon juice, lemon zest and vanilla essence.
  6. Spread the grated chocolate on top of the cooled crust.
  7. Pour in the cheesecake mixture and bake in the oven at 180℃ for 40 minutes or until the top of the cake is a light golden brown.
  8. Switch off the oven and leave the cheesecake in the oven for 45 minutes. Do not open the oven door.
  9. Refrigerate the cake for one hour.
  10. In a bowl whisk the cream until it begins to get stiff. Add the melted chocolate and whisk until stiff. Spread over the cheesecake.
  11. Arrange the mars bar bites around the cake.
  12. Melt the caramel and pour into the centre of the cake.
  13. Return the cake to the fridge for at least 6 hours or refrigerate overnight.
  14. When ready to serve, run a knife around the edges of the cake tin and release the tin. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

