“New Year, New Me”

It’s that time of the year again. Social media sites are full of people posting about how they are going to ‘change’ this year. I know that this is common and oh my goodness, have I seen enough of it. I have in previous years been a participant of this ‘new year, new me’ movement. You all know how it goes right? Some join a gym. Some make resolutions. The truth of the matter is however, that most of these resolutions and ‘changes’ just don’t make it. Why is that?

Is one year enough? Enough to change? Enough to be a new year person? I feel like we all have convinced ourselves that if at the end of a year you cannot think of grand and spectacular things you have done that year, then you have not really lived that year at all. Well at least that’s how I’ve felt before. We feel like if we have not accomplished that list we made on January 1 then the year has been a failure and so Β when the new January 1 comes; we embark on another journey to fulfill a new list.

Life does not happen in a year. You do not graduate from high school in a year. You do not have a successful career in a year. Why do we then expect to do these few things that we may have been trying to do for years, in a year? It’s just another mystery of being human I guess.

The way I see it is that we should see each year as an opportunity to get one step closer to our goals and dreams. Everything is a work in progress and the pressure of having to achieve something in such a short span of time actually ends up discouraging you from doing so.

I wish you all a happy new year and I hope you don’t try to achieve all of your New Years resolutions this year.

 

Leave a Reply

